Kendrick Lamar Drops New Album

Listen to Kendrick Lamar on

UPDATE: Pre-order purchases have gone through on iTunes. This means the new Kendrick Lamar album “To Pimp a Butterfly” is officially released. An amazing album with highs and lows. It’s so deep, we need to listen to this project at least 10 more times to get a grasp. Full review coming soon.

Original Post: The past 12 hours have been hectic and confusing for Kendrick Lamar fans world-wide. Here’s what we know, as of 10AM on 3/16/2014. I have a feeling this will be updated at least 1,000 times.

“To Pimp a Butterfly” Kendrick’s newest album, set to be released 2/23, drops early and Kendrick tweets out a link to purchase it on iTunes. It has since been taken off of iTunes, available for pre-order. Only the single “The Blacker the Berry” is available for download. It is unclear why it was available early and for a short period of time, but it might be fair to suggest that someone made a mistake along the way.

The album is still available on Spotify for streaming, for now..

This highly anticipated album features George Clinton, Thundercat, Bilal, Anna Wise, Snoop Dogg, James Fauntleroy, Ronald Isley, and Rapsody. After playing the first few songs, the album is totally different than any previous Kendrick Lamar project. Absolutely worth a listen.


Here is the tracklist for To Pimp a Butterfly:

1. Wesley’s Theory (feat. George Clinton & Thundercat)
2. For Free? (Interlude)
3. King Kunta
4. Institutionalized (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Snoop Dogg)
5. These Walls (feat. Bilal, Anna Wise & Thundercat)
6. U
7. Alright
8. For Sale? (Interlude)
9. Momma
10. Hood Politics
11. How Much a Dollar Cost (feat. James Fauntleroy & Ronald Isley)
12. Complexion (A Zulu Love) [feat. Rapsody]
13. The Blacker the Berry
14. You Ain’t Gotta Lie (Momma Said)
15. i
16. Mortal Man